BookRenter reviews

BookRenter reviews

Low
4.4
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
158 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

false advertising, ridiculous policy regarding promise of supplemental materials

I needed a book plus an accompanying set of 5 CD's for a class which was to start in 2 weeks. I thought I had found it on BookRenter, since I typed in the ISBN # of the book/CD set package, and it came up on their site, including the title of the item, "Music: An Appreication Brief WITH 5 CD SET." Sadly, when the package arrived, it contained ONLY the book (which I could have purchased much more cheaply than the price I paid for the rental), but NO Cd's. When I called customer service and entered the order #, the computerized voice even asked me to verify that I was calling regarding the item "...with 5 CD set." But the man I spoke with quickly and nonchalantly informed me that they "do not guarantee that supplemental items will be included." Well, this item was ADVERTISED as including them (that's what the word "with" means), so I asked how I could get the CD's sent to me. He said that wasn't possible. In other words, they apparently don't even HAVE any CD sets to send out to anyone, though they are claiming in their item descriptions that they do. Now I have to go through the hassle of returning this item AND worst of all, I now do not have the CD's which are mandatory for my class, which started yesterday. I had to do an extensive search on an auction site to find them at an affordable price, but they won't even arrive for at least another week. Thanks a lot, BookRenter, for leaving me totally unprepared for this class. This is absolutely horrendous and unacceptable customer service. Thumbs down to you for your false advertising. I'll never use them again!
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We are legally obligated to list the book title on our site as it is listed with the publisher. This means that we cannot remove the supplement (5 CD set) from the title just because it is not guaranteed to come with a rented book. We have indicated on all the book description pages on our site as well as in our Service Policy that we are not able to guarantee supplemental materials. Regardless of price, supplements are not guaranteed which is why we provide this information in the product details. CD's are one time use only and since the package is a rental, we can't guarantee the CD will be available if the previous renter already used it. If you are not satisfied with your purchase, the item can be returned back for a refund.

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Low prices for expensive books, long rental periods, easy shipping? Yes please!

Every semester when I get my book list, I see the prices of the books at my college book store and have a mild heart attack. There have been semesters when I could have spent nearly $1000 on books alone! But with BookRenter, I can get those same books, always in perfect condition (or very nearly so--I think I once got one with some highlighting/underlining in it), for a tiny fraction of their retail price. I have paid as little as $16.99 to rent a book for five months that would have cost me $250 to buy. Plus, shipping is cheap and reasonably fast, and return shipping is paid for AND super easy. I pretty much can't say enough good things about this site, and I recommend it to everyone I know! :)
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Thanks for shopping with us, Tamara. We're thrilled you enjoyed your experience! Let us know if there's anything else we can do to assist you.

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

BookRenter is absolutely awesome.

Yea girl the next time you would like to Rent your Textbooks go to BookRenter you can't go wrong.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Thanks for choosing BookRenter, Rosemary. We appreciate your support!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Ripoff and poor Customer service DO NOT RENT FROM THEM!!!!

I rented a book through Half.com with Bookrenter.com being the actual seller. I got the book and as stated when I checked out the terms said there would be highlighting and whatnot (on Half.com's website, nothing was said about bookrenter.com's policies on the page AT ALL) Anywho, I received the book, there were black hairs in numerous pages near the binding and some minor water damage in the last chapter of the book, mind you I received it this way and didn't notice the watermarks seeing as they were in the last chapter until it was "too late" or so I was told on the phone by a Krystel from their customer support. They want to charge me for the book now even though I sent it back the way it came to me. To further my frustration they fed me a line saying that the book was BRAND new when they sent it. Correct me if I'm wrong but books don't grow black hairs from the binding last time I checked. I decided to look around and found that NUMEROUS reviewers have had the same experience with this company. I have filed a complaint with Half.com against Bookrenter so we shall see if this is resolved. first and LAST time I will ever use Bookrenter.com!
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're sorry about your situation. BookRenter guarantees that our books will arrive to you in good condition. If you receive a book that is damaged or incorrect, you must notify Customer Service within 21 days of when it is ordered. Once you do, our five star guarantee gives you the option of choosing between getting a replacement book sent at no extra cost, or returning the book for a full refund.

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Affordable textbooks that are exactly what you need.

I have seen so many bad reviews for bookrenter.com. The majority of these reviews are because the book took too long to get to the person or the supplemental materials are not included. Lets look at the first one. The book took too long to get to people. Well, it is no surprise that you were going to need the book, so order as early as possible. Expedited shipping will probably get it to you sooner, but that is after processing. Their site CLEARLY states that processing will take up to 2 days regardless of the chosen shipping method. Alright, the next major problem, supplemental materials. Their website CLEARLY states that rentals do not include any supplemental materials or access codes. This is how it goes when you rent materials or buy used instead of buying new.
I have rented several books from bookrenter.com. All of which get to me when they say they will, in a condition that allows me to use the materials for my class and then return them when I am done (postage paid). This is all we can really ask for in a book rental company. Moral of the story folks, no supplementals (codes or materials) and order with enough time to get it for when you need it. Otherwise spend 10X the money and buy new. Thanks bookrenter.com for being there for us and not breaking the bank.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Thank you, Stephanie! We love hearing about great experiences like yours. Your support means a lot to us!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Completely satisfied with rental book quality, price, shipping cost, easy pay, very prompt responses.

After two disappointing failures to buy an algebra book online from two other bookstores (because of no PO delivery notification after ordering and delays and no book in stock notification after ordering and delays), my online book rental experience with BookRenter.com was just the opposite: high quality text with correct ISBN number as ordered, great low price, easy online payment, immediate online notifications, fast free shipping and on-time delivery to a PO box number. Low cost was essential because of my limited budget as a retired senior (tutor) and speed was paramount as the college semester was already underway and into its seventh week. Thank you, Book Renter, for coming through for me with flying colors! KLR, PhD.EE
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We're so grateful for your amazing words. Please let us know if there's anything else we can do!

Thank you for choosing BookRenter!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

PISS POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

Where do I begin?! Let me start with my phone call to customer service which was less than exceptable. First off, the customer service person was somewhat sarcastic and gave me very generalized and rehearsed answers to my questions. There was no sinceretity in her voice to trying to help me. In fact her voice was monotoned, sarcastic, and seemed as if she was reading from a handbook. Second, this company has a policy to wait one to two business days, I think they affectionately call it "processing", before they decide that they will ship out your book/s regardless of whether you ordered EXPRESS SHIPPING or not. I have ordered from other colloge text web services as well, who also deal with other vendors in obtaining and shipping ones book/s, and when I have paid EXPRESS SHIPPING, I have recieved my books according to what one would expect for paying for this extra service! This so-called 1 to 2 business days of processing an absurd and piss poor business practice at best. Had I not ordered EXPRESS SERVICE, and had the so-called customer service not been so poor, I would have leaned on the side of being slightly satisfied with my order as the books got to my house with what I would expect from regualr shipping however, being that I ordered and got CHARGED for EXPRESS SERVICE even though I tried to hash this issue out with customer service, I will rate you a zero on a scale of 1 through 10. What shouldve happened once I contacted Customer Service, was one: I shouldve gotten some real help and at least sound as if you really care about your customer, and second, the shipping fee should at the very least have been waived or even down graded...ANYTHING to try and appease the customer but the fact is that this did not happened. Whether you care or you dont, and judging by your lack of customer service I believe you dont, you have indeed lost a longtime customer for good. My goal now is to educate (not divert) future customers so that this does not happen to them as well.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Please accept our sincere apologizes for the service you received. We try to make the shipping information available to our customer's so that there is no confusion on when a package will arrive. Whether it's Free Standard Shipping, Express, or Express Plus shipping, most orders take 1-2 business days to process before shipping out. This information can be found on Step 2 of the check out flow when a customer chooses the shipping method for their order. This information can also be found here at: http://www.bookrenter.com/shipping

If this was not clear we do apologize and appreciate your feedback. We will work harder at making this right. If there's anything we can do please let us know.

Thank you for choosing BookRenter!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

See and Agree!

This is the newest concept in campus bookstores. You can beat the price or the service. Save loads on your student loans!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

What A life saver!

When I lost one of my textbooks during my LAST semester I thought I was a goner, but BookRenter came to my rescue. They actually had the textbook I needed and they sent it to me without a problem!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

False Advertising!

I ordered a book whose title description entailed supplemental materials in the form of an access code that was required for it's intended course. The rental price was comparable to what other book rental websites were asking for the same book with said supplemental materials. The book arrived without the supplemental materials, so I must return the book and pay for the shipping costs.

They claim to have a 21-day return policy, to receive a refund. However, I am under the impression that I am still liable for all shipping costs. I paid for express shipping, to receive the book in time for the start of this course, which cost $19.99. The cost of return shipping is to be determined, because they will only let you print out their return label and then deduct what they determine to be the cost of return shipping from your refund, after they receive it.

Ultimately, I may be paying as much, if not more than the cost of renting this exact same textbook elsewhere, whose title description does not include the expressed supplemental materials. Thank You Very Much bookrenter.com!
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We have indicated on all the book description pages on our site as well as in our Service Policy that we are not able to guarantee supplemental materials. If you do not wish to purchase the supplement separately, you are welcome to return your book for a full refund minus shipping. We apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused.

Please let us know if you have any questions or need further assistance. Thank you for choosing BookRenter!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

the great thing for students

I can't believe what a great product at such a low price. they are reliable and everything i need came on time and easy to ship back.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We are grateful for your business, Renee. We really appreciate your support. Thank you!

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Takes Your Money

This place is the worst. As any other struggling college student bookrenter seemed like the ideal site that held most of the books that I needed. I was late getting my books due to my own planning, so though they did offer free standard shipping-- I needed my books yesterday. I ordered the next day delivery. I was excited the next day, but nothing came. I waited the next day. Nothing. Three days later I got the book with no apologies or anything. I blamed this incident on myself and poor planning and sucked it up. But you know what I can't suck up? The fact that I returned the book in a thick, bubble-wrapped envelope so no damage would get to the book when I returned it and yet still got an email stating that the book had "major damage" and that the front cover and spine was ripped off. And when I tried calling them, I sat on hold for at least 20 minutes. So yes, bookrenter can initially give you your books at a lower price before leaving you with no proof and full price books. Get some work done, bookrenter. I guess it's my fault though because you sounded too good to be true.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

Your feedback and customer experience is important to us. If the order arrived late, we'd be happy to resolve this for you and if there was no damage to the book we'd like someone from our support team to take a look at this for you. We definitely want to make sure you aren't left with a bad experience. Please send us an email to support@bookrenter.com. We'd love the opportunity to make this right.

Customer Satisfaction Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

worst renting experience of my college career

I have been renting books for 4 years now. Ive used Chegg, Amazon and CollegeBookRenter. All good companies. I decided to go through half.ebay.com because i heard the prices were great. I couldn't believe how cheap it was. I placed the order on the 6th of January. It is now the 22nd and my books STILL aren't here. I have never ever had this problem with the other companies. Also dealing with customer service was a pain. I work at a call center so I know how it goes. I kept getting different info. A couple gals said they would sent out another package with express shipping. Deciding to wait later i called again and had another representative say that was not allowed and essentially to wait it out. Its been 3 weeks I had a test today and another one tomorrow and I'm supposed to wait it out?
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Please give us a call at 877-642-9313 as soon as possible so we can find a solution. If you prefer you email support@bookrenter.com or start a chat with us here: https://bookrenter.zendesk.com/home#
We'd like to make this right and hope you give us another chance.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

This site provides a much needed service to students, affordable textbooks!

Prices at campus bookstores and other book stores in town are outrageous. Even renting used books cost up 3x more than what it costs to use bookrenter. Increasing textbook prices make it more and more difficult to get a higher level education, this site really levels out the playing field for those paying out of pocket costs.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're happy we could help out, Katherine. Thanks for the compliment and we'll continue to work hard to provide the service you expect.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

I was scammed.

I ordered my books, paid for 1-2 day shipping. Then one of my books was cancelled- because they said it was out of stock. I was like "ok, fine I can get it somewhere else." Then- the next day another book was cancelled. I had already paid for my books! I had already paid for shipping! I would never have rented from bookrenter if I had known they were going to cancel two of my books. They said they had books in stock- I paid for them and then they were cancelled without any kind of warning. It took them two weeks to return my money, and I had to pay separate shipping and new renting fees on another site. THE BOOKS THEY SENT ME WEREN'T EVEN IN GOOD CONDITION!!!! I recommend finding another site to rent from because this could happen to you.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We apologize that we were not able to fill your recent order with us. We offer about 5 million textbooks and receive tens of thousands of orders per day. We do try to update the quantities available for each book on our website as often as possible, but there is a small chance an order can be placed before we can update our inventory. Unfortunately, your specific order for this specific book was placed between the time the book went out of stock and the time we were able to update our website. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Such ludicrous customer service that I thought they were joking.

I ordered 4 books with 1/8 est delivery date. On 1/14 I received an email stating, due to their error, books were returned to Bookrenter. They never even offered to resend them to me. To make matters worse, I had to call twice to be credited. When I called a third time due to incorrect credit, I was told I was still responsible for shipping costs. OUTRAGEOUS. I ordered the same books from Amazon with 1-day shipping. One book was one day late. Amazon automatically credited me for the shipping cost. Now that's excellent service.
Bookrenter.com: Apparently you misunderstood my post. I had nothing to do with package being undeliverable. It was a "bookrenter" error. Why whould I be liable for your error? Fortunately, the credit card company and the law are siding with me. Your reply to my previous post has proven my point. BEYOND LUDICROUS!!
Beena found this review useful
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're sorry to hear this and apologize for any inconvenience. Occasionally packages are returned to us as undeliverable. When the carrier returns an undeliverable package to us, you will be issued a full refund minus shipping because the item was in transit and then returned back.

If you have any questions or need further assistance please email us a support@bookrenter.com.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Company NOT for customers, just $$$

Ordered three books on 1/6 in seperate orders. Got two of them. Now two weeks later I wake up to three seperate emails, stating ALL three of my books are delivered. Not true. I still do not have one book in possession. I called and the customer service lady (ps asked for her full name and employee id number...she said they don't have those. She only gave me her first name, so there's no way of identifying the the lady I spoke with....RED FLAG!!!) said that those are automatically generated emails. I understand that, but why did I get all three emails at the same time as opposed to getting the emails as the books arrived? I have a huge problem that I got an Email from BOOKRENTER.COM stating that my textbook is in my possession, when it's not. So now that bookrenter says I have possession of the book, I am ultimately responsible for it. I still don't have the book and may never get it...but I'd still be held computable for paying it. I had a problem similar to this last semester from a seperate website, and the website gave me a credit towards my next purchase/rental. In reading all of bookrenter.com's responses to these awful comments of customer service, I can tell that they basically put the blame on you, the post office, weather, automatically generated stuff, etc. besides themselves! I'm not expecting any generosity from this awful company. I will just advise all my students to buy their textbooks online, just AVOID bookrenter.com. I'm in law school to become a corporate lawyer, you might want to have your company's lawyer review these auto-generated emails stating customers have possession of their books when they don't. Because I will go further with this if I am not compensated in terms of credit. Is a $20 credit going to hurt the company's funds, or if no credit is given, is it worth people in this company loosing their jobs and bookrenter.com paying out thousands of dollars to me through court...? Ps I read all small print. And I'm correct in terms of law. I'm giving bookrenter.com a chance to become a legitimate, law abiding, customer at heart company. If not, you'll hear from me soon!
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're sorry about your experience, Ashley. We'd be happy to help you and resolve this issue. If an order is not received within the time frame based on the shipping method and the tracking shows the order was not delivered, then a replacement order can be issued or a full refund will be honored.

Please email your order number and any other information that will be helpful to support@bookrenter.com.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Poor customer service and unreliable delivery

I ordered 2 books and was able to track them via UPS until they were delivered to a US Post Office 1 hour away from destination. 10 days later still no books. I called Bookrenter customer service and was told to call back the next day as if the books were still not delivered they would express replacement books out. When I called the following day after no books arrived, I was told I would have to call back Monday (3 days later). I told the rep that Monday was a Federal Holiday (MLK) and didnt want to be lied to anymore, just want the books that I paid for. I was hung up on. Never had these problems with CHEGG so it looks like it is CHEGG from here on out.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We appreciate your feedback, D G, and apologize for the service you experienced. We will be sharing your concerns internally. If the order did not arrive on time based on the shipping method, a replacement with upgraded shipping can be issued or a full refund.

Please email your order number and any other information that will be helpful to support@bookrenter.com

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Awesome

I searched multiple sites and BookRenter had the best prices including shipping costs! Fast delivery too.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us, Amy!

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

There are better options than Bookrenter.com

Customer service was bad. I called to cancel an order I had just placed. I was told that the order could not be cancelled and that I had to wait for the book to be delivered to me. I could then return it and request a refund. Also, now I will have to pay for shipping charges even though I tried in vain to stop the shipment initially. To top it all off, the customer service person i spoke with was very rude and unhelpful. I will never rent from Bookrenter.com again.
Bookrenter

Reply from Bookrenter

We're sorry your upset with this policy. To ship our orders as quickly as possible, we are not able to make any changes once a supplier is assigned to an order. We understand the inconvenience this can cause, however you can return the book for a refund within 21 days of the order date.

Customer Satisfaction Team
BookRenter.com - The BEST way to rent textbooks

Bookrenter Details

About this company

Save BIG with textbook rentals at BookRenter. Why buy? Textbook rental makes cents. With next day delivery, free return shipping & 5 rental periods, BookRenter is the Best Way to Rent Textbooks

Visit BookRenter

Contact information

We live here: 177 Bovet Road, Suite 200
94402 San Mateo
United States

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.