GAME reviews

GAME reviews

Very low
2.1
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
251 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Used Many Times -Not a problem

I've shopped with game many times over the years, and I have never had an issue with them. Which is why I'm so surprised they have such a low rating.
I've used them for pre-orders, consoles and games and I've never run into a problem.
I last shopped with them on Sunday, ordered a 3DS game, which I received today (Tuesday). Perfect - I got a great price & the shipping was fast.
I can't fault them.
Game

Reply from Game

Hi Angela,

It's great to hear of your recent shopping experience with GAME. As a valued customer your comments mean a lot to us and we'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback.

Enjoy your game!

Steve

The GAME Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Never had an issue

I usually preorder through GAME as some times (most times) the games come a day early which is great. Never had an issue with using GAME both online and in store. I've seen a lot of negative feedback here and from my personal experience I doesn't seem fair to have them marked as 1 star overall.
Game

Reply from Game

Hi,

I'm pleased to see that you're happy with both our online and in-store service.
Thanks for taking the time to share your positive feedback - we look forward to your next pre-order!

Steve

The GAME Team
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

fair-eventually!

Ordered a game for sons b/day, paid for 1 day delivery to arrive on Friday (his b/day). Got message from courier say been delayed & be delivered on Monday! Contacted Game, they said was out for delivery so had fulfilled their 1 day delivery! I ordered another from Amazon to arrive Sat. Then had message from courier to say they would delivery Sat, when the driver delivered it, he said wasn't supposed to be delivered til Monday but he'd brought it 'early'! Like he was doing us a favour..... Anyway, Game did refund the delivery charge without any prompting to do so from me, that's why gave 3 stars instead of 1. Now just gotta sell the extra game (shouldn't be a problem as it's a top game.) Overall: would only use Game again if can't get product somewhere else or very special offer price etc; (used to love Gamestation!)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Nice online service; rarely competitive, awkward staff.

Now, although I would trust a console purchase from Game, and appreciate them honoring any warranties as a serious, respectable business, I seldom find them to have competitive pricing. Additionally, twice when I've been inside the store to purchase products, these have not been in stock once the transaction's being processed, disappointing me heavily whilst also wasting my time.

Their stores seem to have incompetent management, incapable of organizing their inventories, but to the contrary, online services have been adept at providing an essential of online service to bridge these from the brick counterpart: rapid, free delivery.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Let down by one member of staff

Went in and couldn't help notice a young girl behind the counter running down other members of staff in front of other customers. I was appalled at how she came across - very rude and arrogant and not at all professional. Usually the Welwyn Garden City branch has good quality products and staff that are knowledgeable but wasn't impressed this time.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Two bad experiences with GAME within one week !

First issue:-
I ordered a PS4 which was advertised with FIFA and COD. When it arrived it only included COD. After contacting GAME they told me it was an error and the offer only included COD and they could not do anything about it.
Only after threatening with legal action and trading standards did they send me the FIFA game,
Second issue:-
I bought a PlayStation Plus subscription yesterday as a digital download. I did not receive the activation code. Contacted GAME this morning and was told it would be with me within around 45 mins. 2 hours later, contacted them again to find out the issue, Was told the order requires manual review and i wouldn't receive the code until Monday. I am waiting for a manager to ring me.
I now have a disappointed son on his birthday who cannot play online with his friends. Thanks GAME for the rubbish customer service !!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

So expensive compared to everyone else

shopto.net or amazon.com are the only places you should be buying games from otherwise you're paying too much.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Horrid if pre-ordering a game

I pre-ordered a game it was dispatched two days before release and on the day it didt turn up. customer service told me to call royal mail however they told me i required a tracking number that game do no give. Game told me to wait 14 days then a replacement would be arranged my nerves at this point were broken i went and bought a new copy at sent back the replacement. there service is the worst i have ever encountered.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Second review on mobile phones from GAME.co.uk

Had lots of problems with them several times and now I finally got a phone (that I had to pay £30 to get unlocked due to them advertising the product wrong) the cable does not work. They do not have replacements, so have to go buy one my self. So a secondhand phone that was £440 has cost me £470 and now a new cable as well.

Do not buy a phone from them.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Rip off merchants

Traded some games in, which they put on my reward card, Bought a Wii console plus other bits, then told me that oh sorry you have NO POINTS , plus charging 19.99 for a game you can buy for 6.99 !!!! RIP OFF will never go to again, I will also make sure nobody i know goes there either
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Amazing Service!

Absolutely great service GAME, And I couldn't be more thankful!

A great company with a great customer services team that handles situations really well, thanks for your services! Highly recommended :)

P.S. No, I do not 'work for them', My personal overall experience with GAME has been great.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Giving information to customers? What is that?

So. I pre-ordered a collector's edition of a game. Which I should never have done.
I pre-ordered the game a few weeks after it was available to be pre-ordered. All was fine back then and I was happy and I was happy.
But then. 4 days before release (Two months after I pre-ordered) I got the E-mail that they couldn't send me the game because the package was over 1KG. (They don't send packages that weigh 1KG or more to countries outside of the UK) Right away I thought "Oh god no!" "I need to find it somewhere else and buy it quickly!" But it was sold out everywhere else... Of course, seeing that it's a collector's edition.
I then got furious and send them an e-mail to complain. I then got a response two days later that they were sorry about what happened and they wouldn't let it happen again. (Yea, right. Seeing these reviews..)
I then opened live chat support on their site just to talk with them. We talked back and forth about it and I got more and more furious because this person I was writing with repeated herself over and over again "We're sorry, but we can not do that. We apologize for the inconvenience" I also asked if they could send the package to one of my friends in England and then he could ship it to me... NOPE. "We can't change the shipping once it's cancelled" I then asked if I could pay them the extra shipping costs... Same message "We can't do such services, it's against our policy blah blah blah" after a lot of talking I then finally got the message that she could see that I was upset and that I would get an apology E-mail from those who control the pre-ordering.... It's been 3 weeks now and I haven't received anything yet.

So, now I have to buy the game for £107 instead of the £70 that Game offered.
Thanks a lot Game. I hope you go bankrupt.
Never buy from these guys. NEVER.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst company ever!

My order got canceled 2 times, the wrong item was sent and no answer from the support in several months about the wrong item
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Cancelled pre-order, now sold out. Shrugged shoulders - hard luck.

I will never buy anything from these jokers ever again. I have had a game preordered with them for months. I got an email today to tell me the pre-order had been cancelled. I called them and was told it was because of a payment problem - oh, and by the way it's sold out and we didn't keep your allocation. Thanks. No, really. Brilliant service.
Now the game is sold out everywhere other than on eBay where all the usual scalpers are asking 2 to 3 times the original RRP.
Do yourself a favour and avoid Game.co.uk at all costs.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

After 15 years of loyal service they spat in my face...

Well, maybe actual spittle, but allow me to explain...

I have been a customer of GAME and even Gamestation since the start of my teen years; indeed since I started to earn a wage, yet recently my opinion of the company as a whole has been so tarnished I doubt I will ever set foot in one of their stores (at least my ears will get a rest from the blaring "rock" music my local Bangor store seems to be so fond of).

Like many people I had been looking forward to the latest Mario game for Wii U and eagerly pre-ordered many months before release in order to secure the best price I could... which was listed as a whopping £44.95 - not a budge on that RRP. I was hoping the price would lower over the coming months as often does, and I would be secured the cheapest price under their "pre-order promise" - as has been done many a time.

The price did not lower, but this was not really an issue for me as it would have appeared I would be receiving not just one but two magnificent pre-order items; both a keyring and fluffy case. As an avid gamer and collector of all things Nintendo I was delighted to see such unique bonus items.

We then come to release day... nothing in the mailbox... - this is a shame but unavoidable; sometimes Royal Mail does what Royal Mail does best!

Two days later my game arrives - hooray! But.... no pre-order items... on no!

I did what most technologically minded people do and took to Twitter; GAME had beaten me to it and had Tweeted that there was a supply issue and the bonus had not arrived in time - yet they were in the post and making their way to them. I actually felt sorry for them due to the postage charges, a feeling which didn't last long.

A week passes and nothing; when I inquired about my order I would get replies up until they realised it was Mario items I was chasing up and then simply stop replying. That's right - just an iron curtain response, not even a simple "I'm sorry but we ran out".

I moved on... life can deal much more tragic blows and this was a minor irritant in the greater scheme of things.

A few weeks ago I was in my local GAME store in Bangor, North Wales. What did my girlfriend wave in front of my face? A Super Mario World U Limited Edition Fluffy Case with a nice, fat "ONLY AT GAME" sticker on the front with the price tag of £44.95. Oh - there was an entire shelf of them, all smiling at me.... my games... which should be on my shelf!!

I took a picture of my glum looking girlfriend holding up a copy and Tweeted GAME directly highlighting rather sarcastically that I found a copy and could I just have that one.... guess what.... no response; iron curtain time once again!

Not fulfilling a pre-order bonus is one thing that you can forgive; I am a lovely human being and understand that these things happen (plus, let's face it - it'll be in the small print *I checked*) but completely blanking a long time and ever so loyal customer purely because you dropped the ball is the most disgusting way you can manage a situation.

Thankfully, the magical world of e-commerce is literally crammed with competition. I have since found a wonderful online store (www.videogamebox.com) that is not only much cheaper, but responds to Tweets within five minutes with a friendly reply. They don't get in pre-order bonuses, but hey; nor do GAME.

How the mighty have fallen.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great Deals

Had a great deal on assassins creed 4 for £20.00 using my voucher. Ordered online and had it with 2 days. Also when I go to the store the guys in there are always happy to help and know their stuff. !
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

DON'T PURCHASE XBOX LIVE VOUCHERS FROM GAME!

I made a foolish mistake and allowed my 10 year old son to purchase a 3 month Xbox LIve voucher from Game. They sent an email with the code on it but when we entered it into the Xbox redeem code function it did not work. I have emailed and emailed Game about this, sent them photo's of the TV screen but they will not refund me and now refuse to answer my emails. It is an absolute disgrace.

BEWARE OF GAME - SEEK OTHER ONLINE PROVIDERS AND PURCHASE FROM THEM INSTEAD!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

A massive insult.

I have had troubles with Game in the past and it seems to have remained the same (if not worse).

A couple of years ago I bought DeadSpace 2 (pre-owned) and had to go back to the store (Basildon branch) on 3 occasions to get a refund. The game didn't work on my Xbox and I even resorted to bringing it in to prove it once and for all. The cost in travel ultimately cost me more than the game itself.

More recently, I have discovered that the Xbox (S-model) I had purchased from Game came with the wrong PSU (120W instead of the 135W it should have been). The PSU had blown up, possibly a blown capacitor. I have sent several emails, explaining the problem, along with the fact I still have the receipt only to be offered no advice, no help, no explanation and no offer of even at least a good-will gesture. Apparently, they cannot prove it was the PSU they provided me with; what proof could I further have than the receipt? Granted, I have discovered this after the warranty period, but it's still the wrong PSU.

I am absolutely disgusted by Game's standards and vow never to use their service again. I'm absolutely tired of being insulted like this and will be seeking advice elsewhere on what can be done.

I only gave this 2 instead of 1 star because the emails I have received were not rude, just very unhelpful.

Max.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Still best place in retail for games. But dont help themselves

While customer services on these sites generally bad, i myself have never had any dodgy service from my old local in Worthing.
Guys and girls always been pleasant and gone above and beyond the call of duty (forgive the pun) for sorting me out.
Only thing that has happened more recently is the lack of games coming in stock, but could be down to preorders. Most of the issues seem to be with management, and not hindered by the staff, who are left to clean up.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Bad packaging ruined my collectors edition! Store workers are sexist males.

Treated my girlfriend like dirt and smirked at Her asking questions. Talking too Her like She was dumb because She was female.

Game Details

About this company

GAME.co.uk is the UK's leading games retailer with great deals on video games, consoles, accessories and the latest pre-order games. Free UK Delivery on all orders.

Visit GAME

Contact information

We live here: Unity House, Telford Road
RG216YJ Basingstoke
United Kingdom

Category

Video Games

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.