Knetbooks reviews

Knetbooks reviews

Acceptable
5.4
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
453 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They only get one star because I couldn't choose zero.

Worst experience in book rental in my entire college career. I ordered a chemistry book for an unreasonable price, but I needed it quickly so I came here. It came a month late. I returned the book through USPS before its return date. Today I received an email stating that they never received my book. So, I'll be charged $180 on top of my rental fee. A book which costs $180 brand new has now costed me over $300. Don't buy from these con artists, unless you like being robbed. What kind of sick company feeds on poor college students? Never again, Knetbooks. Never Again.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good morning Daniel!

As stated in our rental agreement, we require that customers use the prepaid UPS label we provide in your account to return rentals to us. This ensures a safe return of your rental. Our system uses this tracking information to determine shipping date and whereabouts of the book. Without the use of the label we provide, lost in transit, which you take responsibility for by not using the label we provided.

If you used a different shipping carrier other than UPS, give us the tracking information and we will be happy to look into the matter.

Thank you for your feedback!

Amanda
Customer Service Representative
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

They will try to scam you of your money

In JANUARY of this year, I sold them my textbook for $40. Was supposed to go in direct deposit, never came. Played phone tag with them for about 2 months, since they said they needed to do a "review" of the deposit...only for them to then tell me they would send me a check in the mail.. never got an update so after ME having to call them, they told me my bank never returned the deposit and they REFUSE to help me out in any way shape or form. They don't email or call me back AT ALL even after telling my numerous times they would. They forget to change my address, after I've gave it to them about 5 times now. I talked to my bank twice both in January and this week (April) and they have said there is nothing in my account. This company is a joke, they have horrible customer service. HORRIBLE. What happened to giving compensation for a major inconvenience? So now not only am I out $40, but I can't even get my book back which I will need due to me re-taking that class again in the summer. All I know is I will never do business with this scam company again. They STOLE my money and my book.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good morning!

I apologize for any inconvenience! We are currently researching this matter and will contact you once we have a resolution!

Thank you for your feedback!

Amanda
Customer Service Representative
eCampus
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst company to rent boooks

Paying extra shipping to get my book faster the company took one week to sent my book. When I called to see what was happening with my order the lady who attended me on the phone was very rude and when I explain that I wanted to cancel my order she charged me a 10% fee. Any rent books company charge for cancel the order! Will never rent again with this company, they won't get the books on time even paying extra shipping and people in the company is very rude!
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Hi Cindy!

Our records indicate that your account has been set up to receive a full refund once the item has been returned to our warehouse. I have also refunded your shipping cost. Please allow 3-5 business days for your bank to process the funds back to your original payment method.

Thank you for your feedback.

Amanda
Customer Service Representative
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

You were not forth right about availability of books...

I've been renting books for two years now...from you. Each time by the next day my books have shipped. Instead of all my books, you only shipped 3. This is the first time that I had to wait 2 days before a book was ship. I emailed you and asked you to cancel one of the 5 books I ordered; before you shipped; but you shipped it anyway.

In the mean time I had to purchase the book through I Book because an assignment was due before your book could reach me. You respond with an email...sharing "how on the ball you were", and that you already shipped and it will be a 10% stocking fee if I return the book. The book finally arrived and I'm thinking I'll only lose 10%...and then you charge me $6.00 for shipping. So I paid 10.99 to down load the book to I Book...and $9 to you...so I get a $2 refund? The book brand new for sale is only $10.00.

So sad to say...won't be using you again...I feel like I got robbed...and I won't give http://www.trustpilot.com/evaluate/www.knetbooks.com#you a second opportunity to do that to me...and will definitely inform other students about you.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Hello Shirley!

I have set up your account to receive a full refund for the two books you are returning, The Things They Carried and Stride Toward Freedom.

Thank you for your feedback

Amanda
Customer Service Representative
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

So far-so good-hope it stays and runs smoothly.

I rented a prior text book from Valore and they kept sending emails saying that they did not receive the book. Saying that there will be late fees accessed, etc. I tracked the package and finally it arrived, and they did not give ma a late charge. Just hope my rental experience is a little less stressful with the returning process.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Timely and Efficient

I found the books I needed at reasonable prices.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

DONT USE THIS COMPANY

This site is unethical. WE are students struggling to save money due to the increased rates of tuition, the last headache we need is a book store burning holes in your pocket. Every student will encounter issues with returning a book on time, due to family or school issues. This company will charge you half the rate of the purchase price of a book. For example, I had to rent a book twice, meaning I gave this company over 100 for rental costs. I returned the book and they said they received it late, charged my card 145... when I called them they said they received the book but hadn't checked it in yet. They are charging me a 75 dollar late fee because the books are a few days late. 75 dollar late fee is unethical and morally wrong to charge! Customer service is awful, they will not return phone calls. I understand there needs to be late fees, however, a 5-10 dollar charge is more acceptable. There are plenty of other book stores to rent from, and their late fees are as low as 2.00 and much better customer service.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Nicole,

Sorry you didn’t remember your due date. We emailed you to remind you. I have set your account up for the 50% refund! This refund will process as soon as your book is checked in!

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
eCampus.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

THEY ARE LIARS!!!!!!!!!

They are liars!!!! They absolutely do not send out reminders! They will send you an email about when your book shipped and another when they will charge your card for the book after its well past due! That's all. No reminders at all. They are thieves. DO NOT USE THEM! I am done. Customer service does not care at all, their favorite line is "There is nothing I can do" without even trying. I don't even want to give them one star.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Tamika,

I apologize for any inconvenience you feel you were caused. An email reminder was sent, to the email address you provided, on 03/15, 03/19 and again on 03/29.

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

misleading shipping info and poor customer service.

"DO NOT rent from this company! Book was ordered March 18th and received a confirmation that book would be here in 7-14 days. Called March 31st after looking on line and order still shows as processing. When I called they told me they had to obtain book from another source and had found and ordered from another source March 26th and that I would receive it in 14 days. I never received any e-mails that the book wasn't in available stock or that there would be a delay. Since the class starts this week I found the book elsewhere and called to cancel. At that point the stated I would have to pay return shipping and a restocking fee. There site still does not show the book has shipped. The price for the rental was very good and I guess poor service and communication are why." I have rented from many other companies and never ha this issue.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Laura,

Your order was shipped and per USPS.com tracking, 92419999985326553000809179, was delivered on 03/31. I have set your account up to allow for a full refund, waiving shipping and restocking fees, as a courtesy to you!

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
knetbooks.com
Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Very predatory practices, would not advise at all.

My experience with Knetbooks has been unprofessional, unethical and unsatisfying to say the least. The books are in good condition and are relatively inexpensive but take forever to ship. Although you may have rented books from others and among the mountains of homework you have, they will never give a courtesy email reminding you to return the book as it is "you're responsibility" which is fine. The issue I have is being charged $362 thereafter without warning and receiving an email about it a day later. When I called to resolve the issue and send in the books, I am told that I would only be refunded 50%. On top of that, my book arrived two days before the "late refund" window and it "hasn't been checked in yet". In my opinion this is another tactic to part me from $365. This charge is on top of the $55 I spent to rent the books. Currently at this moment in time I have spent $417 and have no books to show for. Also they ridiculously inflate the prices once they charge your credit card for "non returned" items. One book listed at $200 on Amazon new, Knetbooks charged $247. Another book is $35 on Amazon new, Knetbooks charged me $115! I am a huge pundit of people over profit but this organization obviously is not. I would not advise.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good Morning Jermaine!

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We do attempt to notify our customer's of rental due date. An email was sent on 03/08, 03/12, and on 03/22 reminding you that your rental was due. You were charged the replacement cost on 03/22. Your account has been set up to allow for the 50% refund once your return has been checked into your customer account. Please allow your bank 3-5 business days to process any refund.

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
knetbooks.com
Customer Service
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Easy, fast, & convenient.

The free shipping is the best selling point.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not use this company!!! They are not a customer service company

I was a first time user of this textbook rental company. In setting up the account the email address was entered incorrectly. A mistake that a real customer service company would have noticed and would have reached out to the customer to fix it. The problem was I had no access to my account to return a textbook when I found out it was too late when my credit was charged the full price for the book. I disputed the charge because it showed I did not have account with Knetbooks. The company said it was my error and would not assist me in any fashion.
Is that how a new customer should be dealt with? Mistakes happen and Knetbooks was fully aware that there was a problem with my account. I have used many different textbook rental company and when there was a problem I was notified by phone and the problem was solved.
It is a shame that this company decided to treat a new and possible repeat customer in this fashion.
This posting is to tell all my follow student look else where for your textbook rentals - this company does not what your business. I have already informed all the students at Elmhurst College about my experience with Knetbooks and to not use them.
The other rental companies I currently rent from are very professional, even some new one, treat me well and they will continue to get my business.
I still do not understand why Knetbooks would not credit this one mistake and guarantee future purchases. I still have three years of college left, that would have been a lot of needed textbooks.
I am still open to purchasing in the future if they would settle this mistake. I could help them get more student purchases with my connections with Elmhurst College. An be ambassador in how Knetbooks clears up a mistake in order of keeping a future customer.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good Morning Russ!

I apologize that you have experienced any inconvenience however; when an email address is provided by the customer we trust the information has been entered correctly. Every attempt was made to remind you of the due date of your rental textbook and multiple notices were sent. At this time we feel the charges on your account are valid.

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

DON'T DO IT. YOU WILL REGRET IT.

Where to begin. I rented books from a couple of different companies and I erroneously mixed up a couple of the books when I returned them after the rental period. I contacted Knettbooks and explained the situation. They said there wasn't anything they could do until I returned their book first. I contacted [External Reference] and they had the most wonderful customer service department. They understood the problem, they returned the book I had sent in error and didn't charge me a shipping fee. I had the book within 3 days. I then sent the correct book to knettbooks and paid $10.00 to have the other book returned to me. It has been ove 30 days and I have not received the book and I am now accruing late fees with [External Reference] because their courtesy extension ended. I have called knettbooks and all I do is get the run around. A supervisor is not available to take calls, they put your name on a call back list, and you are told that there is no one else that can be spoken to. I asked for the number for corporate and was told that they don't have one. To top it all off, I was told that there is a possibility that the book was put into their inventory system so it may not be available even though I informed them of the problem from the very beginning.
The interesting thing about this company is that when they received the wrong book, they did not waste any time e-mailing me and letting me know that I owed them money. I was lucky that the card I had on file had expired; otherwise, they would have billed me over $100.00 and I would hate to think how long it would take to get a refund. WORST SERVICE EVER AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVES HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE DOING.....

USE [External Reference]. YOU CAN NEVER GO WRONG!!!!!!!!!!
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good morning Ana!

We apologize for any inconvenience. Our records indicate that the book was delivered to you on 03/18, per USPS tracking 9241993150315633275105. Your $10 shipping fee was refunded on 03/12.

Thank you for the feedback!

Amanda
knetbooks.com
Customer Service Representative
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not order! Horrible service!

I ordered a book on 02/26/14. A few days later I received an email my book will be delayed. I request a cancellation since I needed the book as soon is possible. In a few hours I got an email stating my request is canceled. Today 03/07/14 I received an email my order has shipped. Are you serious? Their explanation was there was that one of the representative gave me incorrect information. Here is how it ends
" We have two options, you can either return the item for a refund OR return it on the due date that you selected (4/27/2014). Failure to do either of these options, per our rental agreement we will charge you the replacement cost of the book at end of rental period. Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. If you have any further questions, comments and/or concerns please contact us back!"
As a grad student I have no time to deal with their mistakes. I am warning you don't make the mistake I did. Do not order from them!
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good Morning!

I apologize for any inconvenience. Your account has been set up to allow for a full refund, waiving shipping and restocking fees, as a courtesy to you. You may log into your knetbooks.com customer account to return this item for a refund.

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Great for the price!

I ordered a book from Knetbooks about a week or so ago. The book was shipped about 4 days after I had purchased it. I was provided with a tracking number and was able to track all the shipping updates. I received it in 5 business days. The price was VERY affordable and I received free shipping! I will definitely be ordering from Knetbooks again. You really can't get much lower prices elsewhere. Thanks Knetbooks!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

HORRIBLE

I ordered a book from Knetbooks, and after a week of not having my book I called Customer Service only to find out they haven't shipped my book yet and they couldn't do anything about it. The customer service rep bumped up my shipping to 1-5 days, and after 5 more days, the book is still nowhere to be found. I was given a tracking number, but when I put it into UPS website to track it , it says there is no order with that tracking number. I am never ordering from here again!
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Good Morning!

I apologize for your inconvenience. Your order appears to have been lost in transit by the U.S. Postal Service. I have processed a refund. Please allow your bank 3-5 business days to process. I have also issued $20 in store credit to your knetbooks.com customer account as a courtesy for the inconvenience.

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Free shipping both ways made it fast and convenient.

I love the fact that I can rent the book at an affordable price and return it for free when I'm done with my classes. It's better to rent because we might never use some if these textbooks ever again when we graduate.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

They take their sweet time!

I paid for the expedited shipping to make sure I got the books by a certain date to begin my reading. They didn't even ship the book out until the day after it was supposed to be at my home. Not very professional.
Knetbooks

Reply from Knetbooks

Bridgette,

As stated on the website, most orders ship within 48 hours. Your order was shipped within the 48 hour processing period via your chosen shipping method of UPS 1-5 business days. I have processed a refund of your shipping as a courtesy to you. Please allow your bank 3-5 business days to process!

Have a wonderful day!

Christina
Customer Service
knetbooks.com
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

This is the second time I rented and my experience was great!

Renting my books was a great way to go. It was super easy and I am going to continue to rent from Knetbooks. I have already recommend them to other students I know.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

EXCELLENT

Fast delivery, no problems at all

About Knetbooks

Knetbooks Textbook Rental

Rent textbooks at Knetbooks. Find a wide variety of college and university textbook rentals at prices 65-85% less than your campus bookstore.

Visit Knetbooks

Knetbooks Customer Service

Call us on: 1-866-870-9186
We live here: 2373 Palumbo Drive
40509 Lexington
United States

Category

Knetbooks is ranked 44 out of 51 in the category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.