Onhotels.com reviews

Onhotels.com reviews

Good
7.8
from 0 - 10
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review company
134 Trustpilot review(s)
|
Latest review
ShowHide Rating distribution
Rating distribution

Reviews

About

trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Ace Company

No problem booking had problem with hotel last year and money refunded immediately great company to deal with.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Great deal has pocket appeal

No hassle customer service. We had a family room for two including full breakfast (loved the pancake making machine) in a classy city centre hotel for a great price.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Best price available and zero complications!

I spend alot of time going through websites to save money on hotels, and this site had the best offers consistently AND free breakfast was included for some reason which I wont complain about...moving away from booking.com and will use this site instead in the future!!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Good location, clean apartments

Stayed in a easy stay apartment on Acland street. Great location, close to lots of bars, restaurants and beach in st kilda. Apartment was clean, comfy & great for a weekend away.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Such a good price I thought it was a con!!!

Myself and gf were looking for a nice hotel in NYC when we stumbled upon Onhotels.com. I'd spent about three days solid searching the thousands of hotels until I found The Sanctuary at such a great price. I was sceptical at first but was reassured by the website and phone contact.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Does what it says

easy booking site with good range of hotels . We would use again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Super smooth transaction.

Onhotels had the hotel we knew we wanted at the best available price online. We made the reservation, paid in full up front and had a hassle-free holiday in Japan thanks to onhotels. We will definitely consider using these guys again for future hotel bookings.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Relieved

Onhotels worked great. 1st time user. Will use again.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Easy!

Great price, no problems. will use again
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very easy to book with no problems!

As said on the heading, it is very easy to book since the website is very easy and very intuitive.
Your reservation can be done in two minutes, they charge you immediately on your credit card, so later on you have no problems with the hotel once arriving there.
I will definitely book again with them!
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

one hit stop

good for us as we are not computer savy and need to book by phone (not always possible with other sites) plus no printer so just needed for Onhotels.com now to inform the hotel of us coming etc which they did. Had no problems checking in or out. The hotel was ok,clean,rooms not luxurious but adequate,reception staff a touch miserable tho.Common areas ie; lounge etc very comfortable.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Love this website. Saved me so much money.

I really liked this website because it saves money and it's easy to use.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

good hotel assortment, quick, less care for invoices

sometimes invoices have the gpb symbol i.o. the euro ones.
sometimes invoices have no company name but address only.
in all this case I have to loose time for mailing new request.
Onhotels.com

Reply from Onhotels.com

Thanks for your review Paolo. I’ll pass the issue with the invoices to our IT Department for them to fix.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Truly unbelievable service.

I booked a hotel with this company on 15/01/2014 for a nights stay in London on the 18/01/2014. We arrived at the hotel to be told there was no reservation for us even though they took the money out of our bank literally as soon as we made the initial booking. The hotel had one room available which was not up to the standard we had paid for. We gave the hotel the benefit of the doubt because I'm sure that if the reservation had of gone through correctly, then we would have had an adequate room.
When we returned from our stay I complained to OnHotels straight away telling them of the problems they had caused. I recieved an email from them saying they will speak with the hotel regarding my unfortunate experience, and to provide them with names of the people i dealt with at the hotel. I responded once again saying that i believed the problem stemmed from their company and not the hotel, and that the hotel were as helpful as they could be but were understandably put in a very awkward situation of having to give us a small, unequipped, unadequate room which was definitley worth less than what we had paid for.
I then recieved another email today asking what room number I stayed in, why? Does the company not believe me? Surely they could speak to the hotel direct to find out what room it was, surely they have a record.
It has now nearly been over a month since this 'unfortunate experience' and I have recieved no help or assurance that my complaint has been professionally dealt with. I have requested that OnHotels no longer proccess my complaint due to the lack of care, help and negligence i have recieved. I will use a more reliable service in the future.
DO NOT BOOK THROUGH ON HOTELS!
Onhotels.com

Reply from Onhotels.com

Hi Alice,

We are sorry your experience at the Hotel Tophams Belgravia wasn’t satisfactory.
After investigating you case, the Hotel has accepted yesterday their responsibility on the problem and is offering you a 15% discount on the booking as compensation. The hotel has also assured us that they have taken immediate steps to avoid similar incident in the future.

So it seems they received our reservation correctly but (probably because they were fully booked) they told you they hadn’t received the booking from our supplier and from us and gave you the only room free on that moment (no the best one of the property as you indicated).

Please, see in the below link a copy of the letter the hotel sent us saying: “that the service they [that is you] received is no way indicative of the level of service strive to provide”: http://imgur.com/TRt1Syc

Regarding our time response, please bear in mind that complaints take days to resolve as involve 3 parties: the hotel, our supplier for the hotel and us. You sent us your first letter on the 20th of January (not even 2 weeks ago and far from the 1 month you mentioned). Our Team informed you in our fist communication that complaints take its time to be resolved.

We are sorry if during the investigation we contacted you to know more details about the issue (like asking you for the name the person you talked to at reception or your room number). Please, understand that in an investigation of this kind our supplier and us need as much information as possible to contrast it with the information we receive from the property. So, it wasn’t a matter of not trusting you, but only this way we can assure the investigation is properly done.

We do apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused you and kindly invite you to re-consider your rating to our Customer Service. We’ll contact you by mail in order to proceed with the refund offered by the Belgravia.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Do not trust

I tried to book room in one hotel from Onhotels.com. When booking - with the only option "non-refundable booking" - I ended up with a different hotel. Customerservice told me that the hotel I wanted did not exist anymore. I got no answer to why Onhotels then have open bookings and different rooms and prices for a closed down hotel. The customerservice keep repeating that the booking is non-refundable and claim that I have made this mistake myself. Onhotels will not cancel the booking, that is, it can be cancelled, but I have to pay full price. Also, it turns out that the hotel I tried to book does exist, opposed to the information from customerservice.

I find Onhotels not trustworthy at all. I would call this a fraud: they are advertising for one hotel and putting you in a different one.

They also charge you a fee for the payment. Other hotel booking-sites I have used never did that.

And, they have a "link" to TrustPilot on their Facebook-page which only shows the most positive reviews.
Onhotels.com

Reply from Onhotels.com

Hi Beathe, we are really sorry your experience with us hasn’t been satisfactory. Your case is a bit confusing but we have had the chance to clarify it.

1.- Your first booking (768358) for the Atahotel Expo Fiera in Via Keplero 12. Not sure why you reserved this one when your intention was staying at Viale Severino Boezio, 20 (in the closed hotel). We have double checked with HotelsCombined.com and the entire process was correct (you clicked on the property in Via Keplero 12), entered our site for this hotel and made the booking. Unfortunately, this is a non-refundable rate. We have contacted our supplier for this hotel and the hotel itself but none of them accepted to cancel at no cost. We cannot assume the cost of the cancellation as there was no mistake from our side (or HotelsCombined.com side). Please, not that the supplier for this hotel is not the same on than for your second booking.

2.- Your second booking (768354) in Viale Severino Boezio, 20 (in the closed hotel). How was that possible? One of our suppliers had for the hotel in Via Keplero the same hotel code (a few letters that identify each property) that in the closed hotel (in Via Sveriono Boezio). That means that the closed hotel was still giving availability and it was possible to make the reservation as you did (not just in our site but in all websites working with this supplier as you probably saw in HotelsCombined.com). But in reality, those reservations were being registered in our supplier system as per the other hotel (the one in Via Keplero 12) because both hotels were sharing the same hotel code.

What would have happened if you had just made the reservation for the “closed hotel”? Our supplier would have accommodated you in the one in the Via Keplero (where the reservation went in reality in our supplier’s system when you did the second booking)or would have compensated somehow (accommodating you in other nearby property).

We have contacted this supplier to inform them about this mistake and asked them for a full refund of your booking. No response yet from them. How was this supplier giving “availability” for a hotel closed for 3 years? We don’t know; and an investigation is still in place. The fact that both hotels have very similar names and are from the same chain has helped to the confusion. So we’ll contact you a.s.a.p. to let you know about the full refund for this booking (768354).

As you can see, there was no intention from us, HotelsCombined.com or our supplier to mislead you intentionally. Were we selling rooms in a closed hotel? Yes; we and other Online Travel Agencies working for Milan with this supplier (although as explained, these bookings were going in reality for the one in Via Keplero due to the fact that both hotels were sharing the same hotel code).

Also, bear in mind that all of the above is known now, after we have investigated the issue. Please, don’t blame our Customer Service Team not having things clear from the very first moment. Now the closed hotel record has been deleted in our supplier system and in our system also so this issue doesn’t happen again.

We do apologize for the inconvenience this error has caused you. Please, let us know if you have any questions.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Hidden terms

I booked a hotel in Buenos Aires which I believed to be refundable ( I never book a non-refundable room ). Not only did On Hotel debit my credit card immediately and charged me for using my credit card! Other providers only charge against your credit card when you are at the hotel. They afterwards informed me that I was not allowed a refund. I'm still waiting to see this in print as they told me I had agreed to it. In all my correspondence from them, and only when I was invoiced, I believe I had free cancellation. It is only in the invoice that it is marked no cancellation allowed. Unfortunately, it is only recently that I read that this company was not well liked by many Trip Advisor users. STAY AWAY from ON HOTEL.com
Onhotels.com

Reply from Onhotels.com

Hi Eric,

Our Standard policy is that cancellations made any time up to 72 hours before arrival will incur a 10% charge of the entire booking cost. Approx, 70% of all our bookings fall under this cancellation policy.

However, please note that some bookings will have non-standard cancellation and amendment policies - but these are stated clearly on the booking form or by our customer service team if you are booking by phone.

In case of your reservation (thanks for providing booking number) it was a Non Refundable Booking. In cases like this, the rate of the hotel is usually much lower than standard rates (this is why is not refundable).

You can find about our cancellation policies in these parts of our website:

1) In Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) --> http://www.onhotels.com/static/FAQ#2c

2) In our Terms and Conditions --> www.onhotels.com/static/TermsAndConditions#11

3) During the booking process, in on Upgrade Room Types --> Show Cancellation Policy

4) In the booking form, just above the Submit button to confirm your reservation.

5) In the booking confirmation mail.

6) In the invoice as you indicate.

Let us know if you need further information.
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very very good

It was very good, I'm realy happy
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
Review by confirmed purchaser

Very good

I stayed in the Regent Singapore and i had a nice room. Overall perfect
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

All is excellent!!!

I choiced onhotels.com because of lowest price. but service quality is very expensive!
Friendly and perfect solutions they have.
Everything is cooooooool!! :)
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars
trustpilot stars

Worst service ever

Booked a last minute one-night stay with them that was never confirmed, however the hold was put on my credit card, came to the hotel at around 5.30 PM local time ( 2 hours after the booking, no cancellation email, pending status) - no reservation.
The hotel did check me in, but on a rate that was almost 3 times higher than the original reservation (check-in agent did tell me however that they would honor the price of the original booking as soon as I get a confirmation). At 6 AM next morning the reservation was still showing as pending, so I emailed Onhotels and got the reply that they cancelled the booking because the rate was not available anymore. I did give them a call, but all they told me, that because they didn't send me a confirmation, I had no booking and there was nothing they could do about the situation. The question is, why would they send a booking number and put a hold on my credit card? Why did they advertise the price, which was not available, allow to make a reservation with the advertised price, and never cancelled the reservation within a reasonable amount of time? What if I decided to book another hotel and they did manage to confirm the reservation?
At check-out the hotel wanted to charge the hotel's full rate, fortunately the manager was really helpful and lowered the rate, but anyway, at the end of the day I spent almost twice the amount of the reservation with Onhotels.com.
Would I ever use Onhotels.com again even if it shows substantially lower rate than the competitors, the answer is a definite "NO"
Onhotels.com

Reply from Onhotels.com

Hi Alex,

We are very sorry for what happened with your case. As you mention –and due to technical problems- your booking was never confirmed (it went to pending status as we stated in the email we sent you immediately after your request).

Unfortunately, our Customer Service Team was closed at that time of the night and we couldn’t attend the issue properly. Usually, when this happens, Customer Service tries to confirm the booking with the hotel/supplier. For that reasons we make a pre-authorization: in case we can confirm the booking, we go ahead –sometimes within minutes- and charge the clients’ card. In case we cannot; we cancel the pre-authorization immediately.

As you mentioned, in the Booking in process email we sent you we clearly stated: “It has not yet been possible to confirm your booking” (so it was your decision to go to the hotel with an unconfirmed booking). The next morning, when Customer Service opened, we couldn’t confirm a booking made for the previous night, as you can understand.

Our system generates a number in case we can finally confirm the booking as it happens the majority of pending bookings).

If you had decided to book another hotel and we had managed to confirm the reservation, Customer Service would have cancelled your booking the next morning with no cost for you.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you and do apologize for the trouble. Please, let us know if you have more questions or we can help you somehow.

Details

About this company

Onhotels.com is one of the world's leading providers of global hotel accommodation. Offering hotel reservation services through its own website and call center, Onhotels.com enables travelers to book substantially discounted accommodation at thousands of hotels worldwide.

Visit Onhotels.com

Contact information

Call us on: +44 20 7138 3001
We live here: London
United Kingdom

Category

Trustpilot's Commitment

Trustpilot is committed to ensuring better online shopping experiences for everyone, which means we work hard to fight fake reviews. Find out more.

If you notice fake reviews on this company profile, we want to hear about it. Please contact Trustpilot here.

Trustpilot Subscriber

This company subscribes to Trustpilot Business services. Read more about our services for companies here.

No companies can delete or otherwise censor reviews.