amierettos profile

Reviews (1)

The Younique Boutique

Cake Topper Horror Story

I had a HORRIBLE experience with a cake topper for my wedding. I ordered the topper a month ahead of time and I can only assume my order was misplaced, or they didn't realize the date that I needed it. After contacting customer service my order seemed to then be on a rushed schedule. Although customer service was incredibly friendly, they also lie and tell you what you want to hear. I was told numerous times the topper would be to me before the date I needed it. I was told that it was shipped and stuck in customs (these are made in China, and must go through customs). Although I asked numerous times for the tracking number and was told it would be sent to be it never was. Customer service told me it would be at my home in time for my wedding. It wasn't. In fact, it wasn't even waiting for us when we came home the day after our wedding. I called and was told it must have gotten lost in customs. I told them that I still wanted it as a memento even though I didn't have it in time for the wedding. They agreed to make me a new one and requested that if the other arrived to let them know (it NEVER did). To make up for this error they upgraded my order to the custom version to match my dress and exactly match the groom's tux. The replacement cake topper did arrive and the groom had a broken leg. I contacted customer service again, sent them photos, and finally a second replacement cake topper arrived in excellent condition.
They told me numerous times that they would refund the price of my purchase and still let me keep the product because of how long it took and they never did.
The cake topper is really cute, but it is also really heavy...I'm not sure how it would have worked on the cake.

Rhiannon Phipps found this review useful

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Reply from The Younique Boutique


We are quite sorry that your order was delayed in customs but unfortunately, this happens from time to time. Obviously, ordering a custom sculpted topper just 4 weeks before your event date is risky because of this and you will well warned of this.

I'm sorry but we never offered a full refund on top of keeping the product as that is not our policy. We agreed to replace the broken topper free of charge and you agreed to keep it as a keepsake.

We will be in touch with you because last we spoke you were a satisfied customer.

amierettos profile

profile image of amieretto
Female, 1975
Indianapolis, United States