Angela Stephens´ profile

Reviews (6)


A treasure trove

I always look for presents at IWOOT. Just got a batch of early stocking fillers and, as ever, they are great quality and delivery is reliable and prompt.

Excellent service again

This is my second purchase from Appliances Online. I cannot fault the value or service. You are given a date for delivery, then a 4 hour slot on the day and you are also contacted by the driver. In spite of the driver having been let down by his SATNAV and sent via a bridge that was too low for his vehicle, he was still cheerful and fitted my drier into a space that was an exact fit. It's worth paying the £9.99 for fitting as there is no mess and the delivery guys are so efficient. The drier was also competitively priced. I would think twice before using another company-Appliances Online is definitely my first choice.

The English Sofa Company

They do what they say!

I ordered a Liberty sofa from The English Sofa Company. I spoke to someone at the company and received good advice to help me decide which leather to select. The delivery date was 6 to 8 weeks and the sofa arrived within this time.
The delivery guys were great, letting me know what time they were coming and placing the sofa where I wanted it.
I love the look of the sofa and it's comfortable for me.
My only criticisms are that I could have done with a slightly shorter depth as I'm only 5ft 3in; my partner has coccyx problems and finds the settee a bit hard (I'm hoping it will soften up a bit with use) and I would have appreciated guidance about care of the leather included with the sofa.

Furniture Collection

Reliable and truthful!

After having real problems with another online supplier (see my review) I contacted Furniture Collection. They advertised the item I wanted -a Kudos TV stand at £5 less than the other supplier. I got an honest reply-the item could be ordered but would take at least 2 months to arrive from the makers. I would not be asked for any money until the item was ready for delivery. All happened as promised. Apart from a small hiccup with the couriers, who didn't leave a message on my phone and so delayed my delivery by a few days, everything went smoothly. The TV stand is superb, exactly as described. Furniture Collection kept in touch until completion, excellent customer service. The delivery driver was courteous and helpful and arrived within the specified time-slot.
I can recommend this firm, they deserve your custom!


Super-fast Broadband from Plusnet

We have suffered from very low Broadband speeds for years. We had issues with BT (referred to Oftel) and before them Tiscali and Virgin. Sky WERE ok for a while but eventually their speed went below 1 meg on a regular basis. I can't tell you how many abortive phone calls, visits, advice etc etc we had over the years.
Plusnet are a breath of fresh air. They communicate brilliantly (email, text, phone calls). You don't wait in an endless queue and they understand you and listen to your issues. Thank God for the Yorkshire call centre!!
The only reason I give them 4 stars instead of 5 is because we still had quite slow Broadband with them. They did their best but it turned out that the distance from the exchange and the poor quality of the line, restricted our speed. A very nice BT engineer who visited through Plusnet explained this but said Fibreoptics would be with us 'soon' and to watch out for the Openreach vans.
Well it's here ahead of schedule!! Plusnet sorted out the changeover within a week, kept in touch throughout and it's only costing £3 more a month. They arranged an engineer for between 8 and 1 last Thursday and he was on the doorstep at 8am. The new router arrived in good time and they sent us an extension lead at no extra charge as our main computer is upstairs. The engineer installed the lead really neatly-a super job. All was up and running in less than 2 hours.
A big thank you to Plusnet and the engineer from Openreach. I can't tell you how good it is to have about 30 times the speed we used to have. As I have a sick partner we rely on our computers a lot.
Service as it should be!!

Clive Johnson found this review useful

Appalling customer service

I ordered two items from Oakfurniture solutions on December 25th. (yes, Christmas Day, but that was because an extra 5% discount was promised!). Payment was taken immediately with estimated delivery between 2 and 4 weeks, but I didn't get my extra 5% off the price.
After nearly 4 weeks wait, I sent 2 emails which were ignored. I then rang up and was told that my TV stand was in stock but the coffee table was not. 2 weeks later delivery was arranged. The delivery guys were helpful but when they arrived, they brought only the coffee table and the TV stand was marked out of stock. I rang again. I was told that the TV stand must have 'vanished out of the warehouse'??? I asked to speak to the customer services manager. He could not explain what had happened but managed to get hold of another TV stand which was to be delivered in due course. After another failure to deliver, where the delivery driver just 'disappeared' they agreed to use a courier as they had 'logistics problems'. At this point I got my extra 5% discount back. Delivery was finally scheduled for 18th February, before 1pm. A TNT van finally arrived at around 3pm. No-one had been in contact to explain a delay and OFS knew nothing (again). The driver did not apologise and offered me a small package, which was clearly not a TV stand. He tried to force me to accept it because 'it had my name on it' but I refused to take it.
Another couple of days and the Customer Service manager informed me that my TV stand had been returned to the depot and WAS DAMAGED. By this time I had contacted the Managing Director, who assured me that this fiasco was not usual for them-interesting that many other people have had similar experiences!! He would send me £25 compensation, which I never got. They would get the damaged TV stand repaired in 1 to 2 weeks and send me photos. If I wished to buy it at half price, I could. At this point, I asked for my money back and, to be fair, I did get this within a couple of days.
What a surprise- nothing happened and no contact was made. After 2 weeks I emailed again and was eventually given another stupid story. They hadn't repaired it because of 'the finish' but they would do it next week. At this point I gave up. I have ordered my TV stand from another supplier at £10 less than OFS charge. I will have to wait for stock but I will be charged nothing until the stock arrives and delivery is arranged. It is now 15th March, nearly 3 months since my original order was placed.

Robert R S Walters found this review useful

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Reply from Contempory Oak Furniture

Dear Angela,
Many thanks for your feedback and please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you have experienced with your order.

I am sorry for the issues you experienced with your order and the end result. I can see that when you ordered we advised that the items had an expected arrival time of 2-4 weeks. In fact when you ordered one of the items was in stock and due to an administrative error you were booked in for delivery despite the fact that the other item was not in stock.

We always take the total amount due for the order at point of sale which is standard practice for all online retailers, allowing us to purchase the items from our suppliers and so on. We do have the option for customers to pay a deposit only, with the rest payable when the items are ready for customer convenience.

I can see that we gave you a goodwill gesture at this stage due to the problems you had experienced, although this does not in any way excuse the issues. We used a courier service to deliver the TV cabinet to you and I apologise for the lack of communication from them regarding this delivery. I apologise too for the damage to the item and for the delay in having this damage rectified. I can see that we refunded the cost of this whilst we tried to resolve this and I am pleased that you have been able to find another cabinet.

I can assure you we are updating the processes by which we contact customers with regards to the status of their order and hope therefore to reduce errors and problems with stock, logistics and delivery. These are not the service levels we aim to achieve, or indeed usually offer.
Kind Regards,
Robin Hunt,
Managing Director.

Angela Stephens´ profile

profile image of Angela Stephens
Angela Stephens
Female, 1944
Morecambe, United Kingdom