Banner for Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Apollo Motorhome Holidays Reviews 

543
•
TrustScore 4 out of 5

4.1

While we don't verify specific claims because reviewers' opinions are their own, we may label reviews as "Verified" when we can confirm a business interaction took place. Read more

To protect platform integrity, every review on our platform—verified or not—is screened by our 24/7 automated software. This technology is designed to identify and remove content that breaches our guidelines, including reviews that are not based on a genuine experience. We recognise we may not catch everything, and you can flag anything you think we may have missed. Read more

Review summary

Created with AI, based on recent reviews

Looking at 452 reviews, reviewers had a great experience with this company. Customers frequently praise the local staff for being exceptionally helpful and friendly, ensuring that the pickup and drop-off process is completely smooth and easy. Many people also point out that the motorhomes are extremely comfortable to drive, well equipped, and provide a wonderful way to explore new places. However, some customers also noted frustrating issues regarding vehicle cleanliness, missing equipment, or unexpected maintenance problems discovered upon initial pickup. Some reviewers were not happy with operational delays or minor shortcomings regarding the thorough preparation and overall stocking of the campervans.

What people talk about most

Product

Consumers find product to be a mixed experience, as while some reviewers praised the well-equipped layout and... See more

Staff

Customers had positive experiences with staff, frequently noting that the team was extremely friendly,... See more

Service

Customers consistently note positive experiences with service, often highlighting smooth vehicle pickups,... See more

User experience

People report positive experiences with user experience, highlighting smooth, quick pick up and drop off... See more

Quality

Reviewers mention ambiguous feedback about quality regarding the campervans. While some consumers reported... See more

Reviews shaping this summary

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Rented from Apollo for the first time and the service was excellent. I changed my booking several times after paying in full upfront, and the team accommodated every request. They even offered a ref... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Pickup is quite hectic - despite doing all the pre-checks, we found out on the morning that there are scheduled "pickup" times, yet that was never made clear in the precheck in system. Aside from that... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Caravan was fine except really should have an electrical outlet available on the counter. Given we have week plus did think you were bing tight with proving single dish wash detergent and single r... See more

Company replied

Rated 4 out of 5 stars

Vehicle went like a dream . The only set back for us as a family , it was not the 4 bith we reviewed when we booked. The vehicle set out was different and the vehicle was about a metre smaller in len... See more

Company replied



Company details

  1. Recreational Vehicle Rental Agency

Written by the company

Take the ultimate adventure with Apollo, thl’s flagship rental brand. With the most extensive and diverse fleet, Apollo has an unrivalled selection of options to suit every traveller’s unique style and needs.​ Apollo offers a motorhome for every kind of traveller and every kind of journey. Whether it’s a family making memories at a favourite holiday park, a couple chasing a romantic escape, or friends embarking on a bucket-list road trip; Apollo has the right motorhome to match the moment.​


Contact info


4.1

Great

TrustScore 4 out of 5

543 reviews

5-star
4-star
3-star
2-star
1-star

Asks customers to review

This company invites their customers to review, whether positive or negative

At Trustpilot, it's all about human content. This business can also access our AI-assisted response tool which helps them draft replies.

How this company uses Trustpilot

See how their reviews and ratings are sourced, scored, and moderated.

4.1

All reviews

(543)

475 reviews in the last 12 months

Write a review
Companies on Trustpilot aren't allowed to offer incentives or pay to hide reviews. Reviews are the opinions of individual users and not of Trustpilot. Read more

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

I loved the layout of this vehicle

I loved the layout of this vehicle, it was easy and comfortable to drive and had everything i needed for an excellent holiday. The whole process was easy and the crew at the Brisbane Branch were a delight to work with as per usual.

October 27, 2026
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Very good experience

Very good experience. Did online check in very quick pick up. Camper was good no faults. Did express drop off as option. Basically dropped off no problems could get to airport with no delays for flight.

October 26, 2026
Rated 2 out of 5 stars

Quality dropped significantly since thl swallowed up Apollo

We rented a campervan from Apollo, but received one from Britz. It's almost three years old and made by the Chinese manufacturer SAIC. While it can technically go faster than 110 km/h, you're not allowed to because it can't handle it. On the highway, the cab is so loud that conversation is nearly impossible. When the electronics get warm, the cruise control or even the front turn signals sometimes fail. The software for connecting the vehicle to my phone requires access to all my contacts. There's no built-in navigation system. The camping equipment (dishes, cutlery, bedding, towels) is absolutely meager. An old table and clearly worn chairs cost extra. The area in front of the toilet sometimes smells strongly of sewage. To top it all off, we had to kick out an uninvited guest (a cockroach). I might accept this from a low-cost provider, but not for a rental price of over €4,000. Since the thl group swallowed up almost all Australian providers, it seems the controllers have taken over and are cutting everything to pieces.

October 22, 2026
Unprompted review
Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Great staff

Great staff, smooth check in and check out.

October 25, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

We are happy to hear that our team made your arrival and departure so easy. Thank you for your feedback.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service at Apollo Campers…

The customer service at Apollo Campers was amazing from start to finish!

I arrived a little before the office opened to collect our motorhome, and a lovely staff member came out to help me. The gentleman who showed me around the motorhome was very patient, explained everything clearly, and even helped me fit my son’s car seat.

The same gentleman was there when I returned the van. Knowing I had a flight to catch, he made the return process quick and easy, which I really appreciated.

Thank you to the team for being so welcoming and helpful. You made travelling with a young child much easier. Highly recommend!

October 24, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Eduardo, thank you for the lovely feedback! We’re so pleased to hear our team made both pick-up and return easy, and that they could help make travelling with your son a little smoother. We hope you had an amazing trip and would love to welcome you back again!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

When i first got the motorhome

When i first got the motorhome i wasn't shown where the wipers were or how to use the radio or shown how to use the fridge. I had trouble with the key fob being flat which wouldn't start the motorhome. I also had with the vehicle going into limp mode for no reason. I'm glad i had premium roadside assistance as i had to use it 4 times. Everytime i tried to ring the brisbane branch there was no answer. I even left messages and they never got back to me so i had to drive all the way there to find stuff out before i left on my trip.
Other than that the staff are friendly.

October 24, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you didn’t feel fully prepared before leaving the branch, and that you experienced issues with the key fob. We’re also sorry that getting in touch with the branch was difficult. That’s not the kind of experience we aim to provide, especially when you’re on the road.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we’re glad to hear you found our team friendly despite the challenges you faced.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome service and a first rate…

Awesome service and a first rate product. The perfect holiday.

October 23, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi John, thanks for your feedback. We’re so glad you had a great experience and a fantastic holiday. We hope to see you again!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Well equipped camper

Well equipped camper, suited all our needs.

October 23, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Thanks for your review Anne-Maree. It's great to hear you enjoyed the camper!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Van was just what we needed for our…

Van was just what we needed for our long trip up the east coast.

October 23, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Antony, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear the van was just what you needed for your east coast trip. We hope you had an amazing time!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Will’s trip

Great service on collection and delivery

October 23, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Will, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear everything went smoothly with collection and drop-off. We hope you had a great trip!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

We had a great experience

We had a great experience renting the campervan. Everything went well, and we really enjoyed our trip. Highly recommended!

October 11, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Juan, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear everything went smoothly and you had such an enjoyable trip. We really appreciate the recommendation!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

The best

Easy, smooth transaction.
Van was spacious and accommodated are every needs
Great customer service too

October 14, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Theodora, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear everything went smoothly and the van was a perfect fit for your trip. We hope you had a fantastic time!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

Mostly fabulous!

The wait for the camper was quite long which was a bit annoying, once we got the camper it was well stocked with all we needed. The camper drove well. The BBQ on the camper was broken so we had to hold the gas button in the whole time while cooking. I also paid for a sheets and towel swap over package which was not easily accessible so I do not think this is a fair option to offer without making it known that the sheet swap over places are only in capital cities. The staff at the camper place were very friendly and helpful.

October 20, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Nelle, thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re pleased you enjoyed the camper and found our team friendly and helpful. We’re sorry that a few aspects of your experience didn’t go as smoothly, and we’ll make sure your feedback is passed on to the relevant teams.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Super well equipped and the staff are…

Super well equipped and the staff are helpful!

October 19, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi there, thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you found the camper well equipped and our team helpful. We hope you had a fantastic trip!

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

4WD Campervan

Process to pick up and return the 4WD car was smooth and did not take too long. Stuff was very friendly when returning the car in Perth. We had to insist on some information when picking up the car in Darwin. During our rental the car had to be repaired several times and it was always a quick process thanks to the THL roadside assistance service. Would take the same car and company again.

October 19, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Andrea, thanks for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the 4WD and that our roadside assistance team was able to help quickly when needed. Sorry to hear there were a few bumps along the way, and we hope to see you again for another adventure!

Rated 1 out of 5 stars

Formal Complaint Regarding Recent Apollo Camper Hire Experience

I am writing to express my disappointment with the overall service and condition of the vehicle we hired from Apollo over the past weekend. Unfortunately, several issues significantly impacted our family’s experience and prevented us from enjoying our trip as we had anticipated.

The following issues were encountered during our hire:

1. Faulty rear door locking mechanism

The rear door locking mechanism was faulty, leaving us unable to securely lock the vehicle. When I contacted Apollo’s 1800 support number for assistance, I was advised to use a sharp object, such as a knife or screwdriver, to attempt to separate the main door from the security screen door.

I found this advice concerning and unsatisfactory, particularly given that we had hired the vehicle expecting it to be secure and fit for purpose.

My biggest frustration was that we were staying at a campground with more than 1,000 campsites, yet we were unable to comfortably leave the vehicle unattended due to concerns about the security of our personal belongings. This significantly affected our ability to relax and enjoy our weekend away as a family.

2. Hot water system not functioning

The hot water system was not operational. We spent a considerable amount of time attempting to activate it, ultimately wasting more than a quarter of the vehicle’s water supply without success. This was both frustrating and disappointing, particularly when these facilities are expected to be in working order as part of the hire.

3. Missing rear seatbelt

The rear seatbelt on the left-hand side, located at the kitchen table seating area, was missing and appeared to have fallen behind the chair and the guard rail box. This created a significant inconvenience for our family, as only one of our two children could sit facing forward, while the other had to travel facing backwards. This contributed to issues with car sickness and made travelling less comfortable for our children.

More importantly, I have concerns about how this was overlooked during the vehicle’s preparation and safety checks before being hired out.

4. Water ingress into the cabin

After experiencing rain over the weekend, we discovered that the floor area on both the driver’s and passenger’s sides of the cabin was wet the following morning. I can only assume that water may have been entering through the front windscreen area and making its way through the dashboard onto the floor. Regardless of the cause, this was another concern that detracted from our experience.

5. Cleanliness of the vehicle

The vehicle’s cleanliness was also below the standard I would reasonably expect. The fridge had not been adequately cleaned and had an unpleasant smell, while the shower floor was visibly dirty, with footprints, dirt and grime present.

Given that customers are paying for a hire vehicle that should be clean, maintained and ready for use, this was disappointing.

Overall experience and expectations

Taken together, these issues fell well short of the standard of service and vehicle condition I expected from Apollo. We hired the vehicle to enjoy a family getaway, but instead, we spent time dealing with avoidable problems and worrying about the security, functionality and condition of the vehicle.

I appreciate that mechanical issues can occasionally occur; however, the combination of a faulty locking mechanism, a non-functioning hot water system, a missing seatbelt, apparent water ingress and inadequate cleaning raises concerns about the vehicle’s preparation, maintenance and inspection procedures.

Based on this experience, I would be reluctant to recommend Apollo to family or friends in the foreseeable future.

October 16, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are genuinely sorry to hear that you recent Apollo holiday did not meet your expectations and that a number of aspects of your experience detracted from your family getaway.

Following the completion of your post-rental survey, our team reviewed and responded to the concerns you raised. We appreciate the detailed feedback you provided, as it helps us identify areas where we can improve both our vehicle preparation processes and the overall guest experience.

Our records show that during your rental we received a call to our On Road Assistance Team on 16 October regarding the house door locking issue. Assistance was provided at the time, however we did not receive any further contact regarding the additional concerns outlined in your review. As a result, we were unfortunately not given the opportunity to further troubleshoot or assist with the hot water system, water ingress concerns, cleanliness issues or the seatbelt location during your rental period.

We understand your disappointment that your family's experience was not what you had anticipated, and we regret that we were unable to address these concerns while you were travelling.

Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Rated 5 out of 5 stars

Perfect South Island Campervan Tour

Everything worked well from our initial review of options through booking, collection, operation and return. The website is informative, the company is clear about what you will get and the campervan was as we expected or better. The Christchurch depot is very convenient to the airport and when your turn comes, the pick-up experience is efficient, the staff friendly and professional. There were no extra charges for weekend pick-up and drop-off. The Mercedes 6-berth van was easy to drive and negotiated the South Island passes better than I had hoped. The interior is well designed with lots of cupboard space.

October 11, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Greg, thanks for sharing your feedback. It’s great to hear you had such a positive experience and enjoyed travelling the South Island in your campervan. We hope you made some fantastic memories along the way!

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

the vehicle was quite dirty both inside…

the vehicle was quite dirty both inside and out, we had to clean it before we used it and handed it back cleaner than we received it!!
Not the way it should have been and quite a few faults appeared when travelling, if you want to have future customers then you need to put some work in first!!

October 14, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Michael, thank you for your honest feedback. We’re sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your camper didn’t meet expectations. That’s something we take seriously, and we’re always working to ensure every guest arrives to a clean and comfortable space. Your comments help us identify where we can do better, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Rated 3 out of 5 stars

There was a smell

There was a smell, and some of the draws opened while driving. Didn't like it closes a 3:30pm, it made getting home a rush.

October 11, 2026
Apollo Motorhome Holidays logo

Reply from Apollo Motorhome Holidays

Hi Stanley, thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about the smell and the issue with the drawers opening while driving. We’re actively improving our inspection process to ensure every camper is road-ready and spotless. We also appreciate your feedback around our closing time. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

The Trustpilot Experience

Anyone can write a Trustpilot review. People who write reviews have ownership to edit or delete them at any time, and they’ll be displayed as long as an account is active.

We use dedicated people and clever technology to safeguard our platform. Find out how we combat fake reviews.

Learn about Trustpilot’s review process.

Here are 8 tips for writing great reviews.

Verification can help ensure real people are writing the reviews you read on Trustpilot.

Offering incentives for reviews or asking for them selectively can bias the TrustScore, which goes against our guidelines.

Take a closer look